SIE Icon


Scotland’s students consider the Future of Learning

The winners of the Future of Learning competition have been announced today, 21st September, with young people from across Scotland recognised for their visions of the future.

Part of SIE’s summer festival of innovation, the Future of Learning competition invited young people to consider the learning environment of the future.  With support from workshops during the festival, they had to create a short video showing a day in the life of a learner in 5 years time and submit it to judges.

The winners are:

  • Taru Kiiskinen, Robert Gordon University
  • Sarina Kosewsky-Griffiths, University of Aberdeen (Graduate) & Alex Griffiths, NESCOL, (Team)
  • Pamela Logan, Robert Gordon University
  • Angela Fernandez Orviz, Glasgow School of Art (Graduate)
  • Chi Vo, University of Dundee

The winning submissions will receive a cash prize of £200 and have their videos featured in the online Shaping the Future festival conference which wraps up SIE’s Summer Festival of Innovation on September 23rd.

Commenting on the winners, Fiona Godsman, Chief Executive of SIE, said:

“We’re delighted to announce the winners of the Future of Learning competition. With the considerable changes to the learning environment this year as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic, there has been much discussion about what the future of learning might look like. We felt it was particularly important to invite Scotland’s students to be part of this discussion and we were very impressed with the insights and valuable contribution that the winners made to the discussion. We’re looking forward to showcasing their videos at the conference later this week, where we’ll be exploring the future of education and how Scotland’s educators can empower students to change the world.”

For more information on the online Shaping the Future conference and how to register for a free place go to the conference webpage.

Download full Press Release

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *